Connect With Us

Waterford GAA Referees

Waterford GAA Referees

With the growth in popularity of Gaelic Games, the demand for match officials is increasing. The referee, four umpires and two linemen are entrusted with the responsibility for the control of games. They work as a team of responsible officials dedicated to carrying out their duties with integrity, consistency and uniformity.

The role of the Referee is to:

“Apply the rules in order to create conditions for our Games to be played well. The rules spell out the conditions for our Games to be played well; the proper application of the rules creates these conditions.”

The basic requirements of a referee are:

  • A thorough knowledge of the rules
  • Be physically and mentally fit
  • Deal courteously with players and officials
  • Have the ability to remain calm
  • Operate strictly in accordance with the principles of justice and fair play
  • Have the moral courage to take decisions which are correct
  • Be able to live with unfair criticism
  • Be able to accept constructive criticism
  • Retain a good learning graph
  • Be alert and decisive on the field
  • Enjoy refereeing
  • Be committed to the protection of players and the prevention of abusive or violent conduct
  • Be a good communicator on and off the field
  • At all times be well presented
  • Behave with dignity both on and off the field
  • Have a sense of humour and the ability to smile; while these qualities are not requirements they are great assets

Above all things else, retain integrity, consistency and uniformity.

Michael Wadding
Referee Administrator
Waterford GAA
087 6793854

Below are the current contact details of the Waterford Referees.

Tony LarkinBallyduff Lower 086 3749829
Alan KissaneDunhill086 8573758
John PowerButlerstown
086 0711256
Dessie O'LearyErins Own087 6366569
Noel KellyErins Own
087 6821321
Tim O'ByrneErins Own
087 1314857
Conor AhearneFerrybank086 2968463
Anthony FitzgeraldPassage/Gaultier087 9729525
Edmund FitzgeraldPassage/Gaultier
087 7589472
Tom DeeJohn Mitchels087 6565024
John KielyKill086 0795520
Robert GraceMount Sion087 2959740
Kieran O'TooleNaomh Pól086 0644241
Nicholas O'TooleNaomh Pól
087 6179640
Michael O'BrienPortlaw087 6967700
Michael WaddingRoanmore087 6793854
Robert DunneSt. Mollerans086 1515060
Pat CaseyAffane/Cappoquin
086 3718159
John CondonAn Rinn086 3172179
Colin CunninghamTallow086 8294414
Martin CurranAn Sean Phobal087 7797168
Tom MansfieldAffane/Cappoquin087 8229762
Stephen McCarthyStradbally087 6188292
Donal O MurchadhaAn Rinn087 2265021
Tomás Ó CurraoinAn Rinn086 7823422
Timmy O'KeeffeClashmore/Kinsalebeg087 2070715
Timmy OrganAbbeyside/Ballinacourty087 7516195
Tommy O'SullivanAffane/Cappoquin087 4146890
Killian O'SullivanAffane/Cappoquin087 4146890
Stephen PrattTallow086 3465943
Joe SalmonClashmore/Kinsalebeg
087 9385803
Tadhg TobinBrickey Rangers087 1032303
Thomas WalshModeligo087 1348082
Paddy SmithShamrocks087-7535520
Gavin WhelanColligan Emmetts
087 7918018

OFFICIAL sponsors